Is that a dictionary in your pocket, or are you just happy to see me?

It’s a splendiferous day! It almost feels like spring, or at least looks like spring, if I base my conclusion on what I see through the kitchen window instead of what I feel out in the yard. This is a picture of my vantage point from the laptop at the kitchen table. The items that are there at the moment – the candlesticks, the wooden basket of cards and dice, and the dictionary – are leftovers from our game night the day Jesse came home. There’s always something different on the table, and that’s the way I like it. By the way, that dictionary is about twenty-five years old; it was a present from my parents one Christmas, and I was so pleased. One of the best gifts ever. And yes, since you’re going to ask anyway, I DO have it memorized by now. Natch. What did you think? Also, please ignore the cookie crumbs to the left of it.

I feel so, I don’t know, creative or something! Or more, just burbling over with the wonder of life. I’ve been moving things around in the Haven and still have a few things left to do.  I want to hang the mirror in the entry, the ship painting in the living room, and assorted other falderal here and there and other places. I want to go through my books again and take the ones I no longer want to the used bookshop in our little downtown. I love our little downtown. I’m going to make rolls and pea soup for supper. If my books-on-hold are in at the library, I’ll go fetch them! I have a bunch of horror anthologies coming because I’m ready for short stories again. But oh, this spring-simulated weather has gotten my blood pumping for whatever is new and fresh. Aaaand, la la la, I believe it’s time to break out the cardboard and get my hands dirty in some flour and water, or maybe even plaster this time, because I want to make a headboard for our bed. The master bedroom is drab as all get-out and I want to spruce it up with some color. Right now it’s all browns, browns, browns. So obviously I’ll paint the papier-mache headboard brown, but I might also make an abstract painting in bursts of bright colors to go over it, and buy a bunch of bright pillows, etc, etc. It will be fun. I’ve had some emotional adjustments to make since school ended, but I believe I’m finally beginning to find the balance I need between creative writing, art, and relationships. I really am amazingly rusty in all three.

It’s a good day, with all its moments of deep sadness and exultant joy. Now I need to go live a little bit of it. Love! xo

2 Comments

Filed under Fambly, Hope, La la la, Slap-happy, Stuff to read

2 responses to “Is that a dictionary in your pocket, or are you just happy to see me?

  1. Christine

    this morning, I saw THREE different groups (gaggles?) of geese~ heading NORTH! In Ohio! Weird….I guess they think Spring is here!
    *Sigh* Wouldn’t it be loverly?

  2. Ooh, I opt to follow the geese. I think that whenever there’s a question, it’s best to follow the geese, don’t you?

    I would LOVE to see/feel spring about now. Say winter, Christmas is over, so you can take your ball and go home.

Leave a Reply

