It’s all about TV this time.

I can’t even believe I’m about to admit this, but I’m watching Dancing With the Stars. sigh. I don’t like this show, even though half of the country does, including my mom. Hi mom. I’m only watching it because Torie had it on before I came in and oh my god, seriously, Buzz Aldrin is doing the cha-cha. No. Apparently Pamela Anderson will be up soon. NO.

Mr. Astronaut Hero Sir, WHY?

So what I’m doing while I “watch” is reading through the Television Without Pity forums and recaps which-I-love. I read everything attached to The Office, The Lost, The American Idol, and The Flash Forward faithfully, unless they have 25+ pages like the Lost forums do and then I give up around page ten. I’m a very, very busy person, as you can tell. And plus besides, I reactivated my Facebook account because I was bored and wanted to know what everyone was up to and now I’m back to checking it every fifteen seconds again. Hello my name is Kelly and I’m a pick a disease, any disease. Oh wait, Castle is on now, and I’ve never seen it. It’s supposed to be good and of course it is: Nathan Fillion.

My life is complete.

Edit: Well, Castle, you’re a little bit meh, though to be fair maybe that’s because I was watching you while writing this post, checking Facebook, and playing online mahjong solitaire. Seriously, what did I DO before internet machines?

Only minutes ago Torie and I rummaged for cash and she drove off into the dark in search of excellent chocolates to meet our insatiable need. There’s no way she’ll disappoint because she has a super accurate chocolate radar, which she got from me, which I got from my mom, and so on and so forth all the way back to Mother Eve in Africa. Although, have you noticed lately that love of chocolate is no longer solely a woman’s privilege? Same with so many other things… and this makes me happy. I like the blurring of gender lines because ultra-macho and ultra-feminine aren’t really necessary anymore, are they? Van showed me an hilarious video the other day which I can’t post here because if I did WordPress would send its goons to chop off my fingers, but it was of a group of guys called the Dan Band dancing to Beyonce’s Single Ladies, and I was laughing my head off.

Shake it like a polaroid picture, the Dan Band

I really do love this man.

One of the more episodic shows I’ve been watching excessively is Kitchen Nightmares with Gordon Ramsay, but I’ve actually started to get tired of his shtick. This is entirely my fault for glutting. Yesterday I had a particularly bad monthly so I opted to stay in bed for the majority of the day and instead of choosing a book to read from the towering stack on my nightstand I rendered my legs useless by supporting the laptop with them while I watched about ten hours of Ramsay yelling at people and calling them pigs. I’m not complaining – I would do it again – but after awhile you begin noticing patterns to the tirades, and the editing of that show is incredibly ham-handed. But entirely addictive. Hello my name is Kelly and I’m pick a disease, any disease, but go with “TV addict” because it’s the most appropriate. I used to be such a snob, too. It’s funny, if you’re the type of person who finds crying clowns funny. sigh. Where’s my book? Love! xo

6 Comments

Filed under Small blue box

6 responses to “It’s all about TV this time.

  1. Gordon Ramsey is surprisingly addictive. I don’t think I’d ever be in a rush to watch one of his Kitchen Nightmares but whenever they are on you just can’t help watching and thinking, damn, he’s right! Because somehow you just expect him to be an asshole. He is, sometimes, but then again, so are we all :)

  2. Ramsay’s rightness is the thing that makes his acerbic ways tolerable…. Also, I love love love that he speaks his mind because I wish I did that more myself. The nice thing about Kitchen Nightmares is that he really IS trying to help and when people take his advice, their businesses turn around and thrive. But I think an entire day of watching broke something in my brain.

  3. This brain is beyond fixing. When I watch stuff like Ramsay, I’m just filling it with candy and meatballs.

  4. Yeah – Gordon Ramsey’s shows are terribly addictive.
    But then so are LOST (and it rocked this week) Flash Forward, Fringe, The Office and my other staples that are guilty pleasures – Project Runway, America’s Next Top Model and Modern Family. Oh, and HOUSE!! Never ever forget house. Geeze, when did I become such a TV-aholic???

    • I know what you mean! I’m totally addicted to TV now, I think because the stories are getting sooo good. If I weren’t also reading as much as ever I would be concerned, but that hasn’t changed so whew. Wasn’t Lost AMAZING? I was so excited about it this week! And I’m glad you’re also watching Flash Forward; I’ve heard bits about it being canceled and it’s so good that I’d hate to see that happen, although honestly, I wasn’t crazy about last night’s ep. I was a little distracted, though; I should rewatch it. I hate admitting how much I love reality shows, but I DO. Not all of them, obviously, but I stumbled upon yet another the other night when I couldn’t sleep: Texas Ranch House, on PBS, where people pretend they live in the 1800s and run a ranch. Delish!

Leave a Reply

