Friendly fog

Wow, he's actually kind of prepared here.

It’s been a quiet day, which is nice considering I had only three hours of sleep, which I snatched between 6 am and 9:30 am. I’m not too tired, surprisingly enough — even more surprising in that I ate a largish bowl of pasta for lunch. When I say pasta, I mean curried lentil dal poured over angel hair noodles and sprinkled with parmesan and coconut. I know it sounds weird, but that’s nothing compared to the dish I made the other night: pea soup with garlic salt, curry sauce, greek olives, and coconut. I made it that way because our cupboards were seriously bare of all regular pea-soup-essentials. It was actually a hit! Pat pat. And so was my pasta lunch today. Necessity truly is the mother of invention, and Mother belongs in the kitchen, right? According to my son Jesse, she does. But he stopped talking after I threw a pillow at him.

I feel like talking about my kids for a minute. I hope you don’t mind…. Van passed two of his policeman tests and is preparing for his third on Thursday: The Interview. I hope he gets into the academy, if that’s what’s best for him. When he was little, I had the strongest feeling that he was going to be either a soldier or a police officer, and here he might end up being both! But if it’s better that he do something else with his life, then I want that for him. Jess seems to be leaning heavily toward pursuing a Wilderness Survival degree, and honestly, I can’t think of much better occupation for him. He’s the person who will hike 20-some miles into the wilderness in the middle of winter with one layer of clothing and a couple of candles to warm his hands by. He’s crazy, in other words, but he loves challenges. It feels good to see my boys finding their direction. Torie’s still in North Carolina for another week, but when she gets back she wants to look for a job. I keep trying to talk her into taking the horsemanship course at the nearby college, but at this point it’s a matter of money. Which will be alleviated if she can get a job. She has to leave for NC again in October, when Mark comes home from Iraq. That’s going to come all too soon for me. sigh.

It’s a thoughtful, melancholy-baby kinda day. I showered and think I’ll meander in and unload the dishwasher. I might go in on Thursday and talk with the school about the medical transcription program. It seems to be a good fit for me, occupation-wise, as it incorporates all the stuff I already do (computer, lounge at home in my jammies), but I have to admit that looking at another two years of school is a little daunting. However, an old friend of our family’s, Linda, whom I believe is over 60 now, just sent my parents an invitation to her college graduation! So of course, it’s never too late. It’s just, the older get, the tireder I get and the more I want to spend my time reading my lovely spiritual books. I haven’t figured out the fast track to being a guru, so that’s out as an occupation. Damn. Think of all the money, Rolls Royces, and starry-eyed sex I could get. Pity.

All the windows are open and the fresh air feels so good! I might go out and sit on the swing a bit. I hope you’re all having a wonderful day. Love!

2 Comments

Filed under Cold places, Fambly

2 responses to “Friendly fog

  1. Why yes, I am having a very nice day. Went to Dublin to the Natural History Museum, which is very Victorian & looked at all the poor dead animals.

    Wilderness Survival course sounds cool. And Jesse will need it if he keeps saying things like that ;)

Leave a Reply

