Really super amazingly boring Friday post

My kitchen is a mess (ha! at first I wrote ‘message’ and yes, it is that, too) but I’m too exhausted to get to it right now. This morning when I did my dancing exercise, I had a tight chest and wheezy breath, per usual. And when I woke up this morning my eyes were itchy as all get-out. I’m pretty sure all of these symptoms indicate allergies, and I’m pretty sure it’s Horatio who’s bringing them on. That’s my buddy, my little dander-laden lederhosen hosehead. I haven’t done much of anything today except drag my feet from one room to the next, though I did make myself a pretty yummy lunch (talapia marinated in tamari and baked, black beans cooked in spices and simmered in Good Earth tea, brown rice, bed of fresh spinach – I’ve become quite the foodie with this Clean detox program), and I showered, and oh yeah, typed out a few pages of healthy recipes to have on hand and also send to my sis-in-law, who’s frankly allergic to everything in the universal world. We have to go out of the universe to find things for her to eat, so you won’t be surprised to hear that she’s about the size of my left wrist. (My right one is slightly larger.) I’m gearing up to be my mom’s main cook and dietitian when she gets home, except that she keeps talking about cinnamon rolls and banana bread and stuff that is definitely not in my current repertoire, so I’ll have to make a few exceptions, I’m sure. I don’t mind. Actually, the only time I’ve been tempted away from the program was when I cooked a storebought veggie lasagna the other night… I had a small wedge of it and was immediately sorry afterward because I felt sick. This detox thang, she do work. She really do.

Let’s see, what else. Reading… I started a fantastic book I picked up at the library bookstore for $2 called Prayers of the Cosmos: Meditations on the Aramaic Words of Jesus, by Neil Douglas-Klotz. I completely love it. Lately I’ve been buggy to read anything that marries Jesus to Eastern religions because they both mean so much to me. If we’re going to grow as humans, live out of our essence and not from our egos; become conscious — which includes being less divisive and more respectful, less exclusive and more welcoming, less self-centered and more compassionate — then we’re going to have to widen (or really, deepen) our understanding of Jesus’s message. We’re going to have to get back to the heart of it, and what’s wonderful about its heart is that it shares the same beat with most other religious traditions. Thank God for the mystics, who span each religion and tell its truth, straight from the Source. Even if the language is particular to the culture, if we take the time we can look beyond the words, which are mere pointers, and see the Object being pointed to! That excites me. I really loved Thich Nhat Hanh’s book Going Home: Jesus and Buddha As Brothers, and am eager to read the book I picked up a week or so ago: The Good Heart: A Buddhist Perspective on the Teachings of Jesus by the Dalai Lama. Another book I read most of before getting distracted was The Lost Years of Jesus by Elizabeth Clare Prophet, in which she researches and presents the chronicles of several sojourners who discovered records of Jesus’s life in the Orient, where a very good case is made that he lived from the age of 13 to 29 and was known as St. Issa. Since I was a Christian for most of my life, I truly do understand the fear this kind of discussion strikes into the heart of some Christians – not all – because it goes directly against the message that has been taught to them all these years. It is scary, I know. I truly sympathize! But what has been taught is not the whole picture, and in some cases is actually false. sigh. But I don’t want to get into that. There are better people than me who can debate doctrine, and I have no interest in it anyway. All I want to do is share my excitement over this new phase of learning I’ve entered. My favorite teachers now are those who connect all the dots, everywhere! A brand new world has opened up to me and there just doesn’t seem to be an end to it, thank God.

Is there something wrong that I’m thinking about food ALL the time now? Good grief… That’s definitely a second-week-sign of a good detox. I’m coming on the third week now, where there’ll be some relief. Meanwhile, I think I’ll make an Almond Butter and Cardamom smoothie for dinner. Thanks for listening, even if at times you don’t agree. That’s what makes you awesome people, and I love you for it. kiss!

Energy Smoothie with Almond Butter and Cardamom

1/4 cup almond butter (like peanut butter, only from almonds!)

1 teaspoon ground cardamom

1 1/2 cups pure water

1 cup frozen peaches

1-2 teaspoons agave syrup

1/2 cup ice

Blend until smooth.

Current reads: Clean: the Revolutionary Program to Restore the Body’s Natural Ability to Heal Itself by Alejandro Junger, M.D.; The Four Agreements by don Miguel Ruiz; Prayers of the Cosmos by Neil Douglas-Klotz; 2012: the Return of Quetzalcoatl by Daniel Pinchbeck

1 Comment

Filed under Fluffies, Rant

One response to “Really super amazingly boring Friday post

  1. Miaow! (made you sneeze)

    Good luck with the cooking, I’m sure you can manage to do Detox-friendly cinnamon rolls…

Leave a Reply

