Every other day of the week is fine

Let me just begin this post by saying that The Other Guys is one of the funniest movies I’ve seen in AGES. Van and Jesse brought it over to watch tonight and we laughed, nay howled, consistently throughout the whole thing, which doesn’t happen very often. Lots of movies are hit-and-miss, but this was a hit nearly from start to finish. It was just so hilariously, over-the-toply, histrionic, and I discovered that I actually enjoy car crashes if they’re choreographed to “Monday, Monday.” To my delight and surprise, Mark Wahlberg was even funnier than Will Ferrell, who inherently has “funny” permeating every one of his cell bones. Michael Keaton? GOLD. I absolutely freaking loved this movie and am looking forward to watching it again soon. Okay.

Afterward, I gave each of the boys a tarot reading and what was SO fantastic about it is that they both completely connected to the cards and interpretations and felt encouraged by them, as well as validated, as they had already been thinking along the lines the cards brought out. Better yet, for me anyway, I got to talk to my sons about their lives and what’s going on in them and how they feel about everything and all that wonderful juicy stuff that just doesn’t get answered when you ask, “So, how are you?” Van said, “We should do a reading every week,” and I happily agreed, because I need people to practice on. I can’t keep giving myself multiple readings every morning (heh); it’s too emotionally taxing.

Oh, and this morning, I felt compelled to do a reading for a friend, and when I sent the results to her online, she confirmed every point except for one, which I thought represented one person when she felt it represented another, and of course, she was right (since it’s her life). I’m having fun, you guys! Not only is it fun, but it’s helpful fun. It’s like getting to be a therapist or a priest without having to jump through any hoops that make me uncomfortable. There are definitely rules to follow when using one’s intuition, definitely, especially when it involves other people, but I like these rules. These are rules I can easily live with.

This is off-topic, but it’s something that occurred to me earlier today. Whenever I’m ten pounds heavier than I like to be, and I’m no will-o-the-wisp on a good day sweeties, I consistently receive more attention from men, well, and women, than I do when I’m feeling sleek and slinky. I think more men like bigger women than most American women believe is true. I know I would, if I were a man, and I think I’ve already established my authority on this matter–if you were paying attention earlier–considering I’ve been of the male persuasion on many previous occasions. More cushion for the pushin, don’t try to deny it.

I saw her on Monday, ’twas my lucky bun day. You know what I mean.

And I think women like bigger women because, well, if they’re gay they like them for similar reasons men do, but if they’re not gay then they like them because they’re considered less desirable by the media and thus present very little threat in this cutthroat meat market of sexual survival that we consider ‘love.’ Women smile at me and call me “honey” when I’m ten pounds heavier. I look up and find men staring at me when I’m ten pounds heavier. Also, little kids like me better, maybe because little kids like to be hugged and don’t want to get snagged on any bony edges. Therefore, I’ve decided to maintain my daily mug of hot cocoa with a peppermint drop and a dollop of egg nog in it, or a splash of Grand Marnier if it’s close to bedtime. Not that I care if men or women notice me, and honestly, for the first time in my life that’s almost 100% true. What I’m saying, girls, is we can HAVE our cake and eat it too! Everybody’s happy! Halleluia, hurry up and pass the plate.

Hey, you guys have a great day, okay? Love to you! And more love! You know what I mean. xo

4 Comments

Filed under Beloveds, Celebrity crush, Ear candy, Fambly, God, Tarot, Yum

4 responses to “Every other day of the week is fine

  1. Rod

    completely off topic here, have you read Narcissus and Goldmund by Herman Hesse. I kept thinking of you and another friend as I read it. If you can get past the authors need to use five words when one will do it is a pretty good book and referred to many things you talk about.

    • I haven’t read that but I’ll check over at the liberry and see if it’s there! Cool. Unfortunately, I have VERY little tolerance for excess wordage so it might end up getting thrown at the wall, but I’m more than willing to try it out. Thanks for the suggestion! :)

  2. Rod

    I usually don’t like the extra verbiage either, but I stuck with it because a very good friend recommended it.

    • If a friend or otherwise loved one recommends a book, then I’ll stick with it for much, much longer than I would if I just picked it up on my own. Even then I usually won’t read it to the end if I hate it, but extra verbiage isn’t a given when it comes to my dislike of a book… Only if the extra is tedious, or composed mostly of multiple adjectives, which drive me CRAZY.

Leave a Reply

