Every day is New Year’s Day

Aahh, that’s what I’m talkin about. This morning, after five long–though great–days, it’s finally just Horatio and me again. I can breathe freely now. Not that I don’t adore my people, because I definitely do, nor is it that I’m unwilling to share my home with whomever needs a little comfort via an ambient fire, cup of hot beverage, or sympathetic ear, because I love to share my happiness, but it’s a relief to my soul to simply be me… here on my own with God, my angels and guides, and my asthmatic cat.

This morning, around 3:30 am when I got up, I opened the back curtains as is my wont and was shocked to see a blanket of snow on the ground! And it was still snowing! There was no forecast for this, so: Nature, 1; People, 0. Except people win anyway because snow is totally awesome. Plus, this means that unless someone is willing to pick me up and take me over, I won’t be going to clean my folks’ house today, as I’m not a snow driver. I’m not a night driver, either. I don’t drive downtown, nor do I particularly love freeways. Pretty much, I am willing to drive to the very outskirts of Portland on dry streets during daylight hours, like a country mouse, but anything else is completely beyond my purview and requires a chauffeur.

That leaves me happily and cosily ensconced in my wee, warm apartment. I’m already contemplating the removal of Christmas decor, but I’ll give it a few more days, until after New Year’s. We never do anything for New Year’s, or haven’t for a few years anyway, and this year Scott has to work on The Day so it’s even less special, as far as holidays go. I’ve never really given it much thought anyway; I don’t hold to making resolutions all in one fell swoop, as I do that kind of thing in natural rhythm all throughout the year; and I’m not a huge drinker or reveler and find much more enjoyment in playing board games than in dancing on tables.

Maybe on the 31st I’ll take a midnight stroll in the woods behind my parents’ house. If I do, I’ll make sure to have my rape horn to scare away the bears and coyotes and mountain lions, except I’ll have to buy a rape horn. Maybe I should ask Van to teach me how to use my dad’s shotgun, you know, not ON the aforementioned animals, but up in the air should they appear. The likely bummer is that I might end up shooting an owl, for which I would most definitely go to hell, if I believed in hell. This is an aside, kind of like shooting a shotgun into the air, but I’d like to say that if anyone here wants hell, they’re free to have at it. I won’t like it, but I’m not going to naysay you. We all have our own path, and we all get as many chances as it takes. Thank God. /end aside.

Okay, this is kind of a cool thing. A really cool thing, from my standpoint. A few years ago I had a series of dreams in which a very tall and large black man, think Michael Clark Duncan, would come to me and tell me to pray for people. One dream in particular, he sat on the edge of my bed and told me to pray for my friend Karen, who was in great distress. The next day I called her and told her what had happened and she corroborated what he’d said, and was infinitely encouraged. That made me feel so good. Anyway, I knew that this being was an angel who had been assigned to me – my own angel! – but over the years just kind of forgot about him, except for once in awhile, like the time I went to Home Depot and saw a man who reminded me of him and literally had to stop myself from following him around the store because just being around him made me feel so safe. I know it sounds weird, but it’s true.

See? Angel. Obviously.

So, the cool thing I wanted to tell you about is that in the book I’m reading, The Psychic Pathway, the author, Sonia Choquette, whom I inexplicably loved the moment I saw her, told about a time she was down and went to a bookstore and was greeted by a very large black man dressed in white, who laughed with delight and told her he’d been waiting for her, and talked with her and encouraged her and helped her, and then went into the back room. Sonia waited for a few minutes, until the owner of the shop, a woman who’d been putting books away on the other side of the room, asked her if she needed some help. When Sonia said, “No, I’m already being helped by someone. He went into the back room to get something for me,” the owner looked puzzled and, you already know what’s coming, told her that there was no one else in the shop. Sonia figured that it had been an angel, especially since he’d shown her two posters with angels on them. I loved, loved, that her angel was similar to my angel! Maybe that’s partly why I feel such a connection to her. I think this stuff is SO FREAKING AMAZING. It’s the most fun way I’ve found to use my little gray cells!

Note: At 4 am I stood in the backyard in my robe, gazing in wonder at the moonlit snow and silhouetted trees, and felt compelled to whisper, “You know, trees? You can fall if you want to. You’re so much older than us; you can do whatever the hell you want.” And right now, seriously, I’m hearing HUGE cracking noises outside, and the snow is continuing to load down the branches! This is awesome! If a tree falls on our apartment, so be it, it has precedence. And remember that I’ll always love you. :) xo

Leave a comment

Filed under Beloveds, Cold places, Drunkenness, Fambly, Fluffies, God, Love, Power animals

Leave a Reply

