Them krazy kinfokes

Some mornings I just wake up happy–it doesn’t take any effort, any reminders to myself to focus on the positive elements in my life; it simply happens. The happiness may be helped along by a strong cup of coffee, but that isn’t essential, just extra. Hoo boy, this morning’s coffee–courtesy of Scott, whose hairy chest indicates a lifelong devotion to a strong brew–could have held up a spoon all by itself. I guess I’m pretty wired.

[Note: You’ve heard the one about something, anything, being strong enough to put hair on your chest? I thought I’d better explain. Also, look at Steve Carell! He’s so great, and will obviously be needing more coffee.]

I’ve also been reading this morning about near-death and near-death-like experiences, a subject that’s been fascinating to me for awhile. Though I believe I may be reaching saturation point, having gleaned most of what’s helpful from it, I’m still picking up thises and thats that I can apply to my life. I’ve never had a near-death experience of my own, the closest I’ve come is to have almost drowned when I was six, but it seems that any number of life-altering events can trigger the same kinds of affereffects, and I definitely have some of them. It makes me giddy with joy sometimes to contemplate the more that’s there, right at the touch of our fingertips, if we open our inner eyes to it. I’m so excited when I read or hear about or meet people who are waking up to that more, to our connection with each other, with nature, with God (in any form), with everything, and to think that certain schools of scientific thought are catching on as well is stunning! It won’t be long before a lot of what’s currently considered woo-woo will be accepted as fact. Thank you, scientists, for your open minds and curiosity and enthusiasm for discovery!

“It could mean actual advances in the field of science.” (Oh Dr. Paul Armstrong, my favorite scientist ever, in one of the funniest B-movie spoofs ever, The Lost Skeleton of Cadavra. He and his wife Betty are in the video above, along with the fantastic space aliens, Lattis and Kro-Bar. And there’s no better scientific nemesis than Dr. Roger Fleming, who you can see below, with Ranger Brad. You might enjoy these science-centric excerpts. :)

Everything is converging. Oh wow, which reminds me of a book of stories by Flannery O’Connor called Everything That Rises Must Converge. She wrote that how many years ago? In the 50s. And the title is taken from “The Omega Point” by the French philosopher Pierre Teilhard de Chardin, who wrote:

Remain true to yourself, but move ever upward toward greater consciousness and greater love! At the summit you will find yourselves united with all those who, from every direction, have made the same ascent. For everything that rises must converge.

Thank you, ALL forerunners who refused to accept status quo, who were constantly on the lookout for more! We’re indebted to you madmen and philosophers and social outcasts. All those who lived, and live, in the margins. You’re my favorite people in the world.

And funny people. I love funny people, but of course, they’re also margin-dwellers!

Which, so am I. It gets a little cold and lonely sometimes, but all it takes are a few steps out of the cave to see how many of us are out here. Honestly, I can’t imagine living anywhere else. All the other places are bo-o-o-ring. Love to everyone today! Go ahead. Get a little crazy with your bad selves. xo

4 Comments

Filed under Beloveds, Celebrity crush, Creative, Slap-happy, Small blue box, Woo-woo

4 responses to “Them krazy kinfokes

  1. I really enjoy your drawings.

    • Thank you, MW! That means a lot, coming from you. They’re so stream-of-consciousness that it’s a joy to do them; there’s no pressure to perform in ANY way. That’s kind of new for me.

  2. Frokaloke

    Oh Messy! What a fine post…. I am sooo tired, or tarred as they say around here…. but I am so glad I checked in here and found this before I drop into bed! More comments tomorrow when my brain is fresher and actually working somewhat! Paul will be gone for a few days so I shall finally have time to do somethings of my own choosing! And love that art of yours…. oooo sawesome!!!
    xoxx

    • Thanks, Froke! :) I’m glad that you’ll have some time to yourself for the next few days, for book writing or cover-making or whatever you want to do. Did you finish your stonework? May you wake up fresh and sassy in the morning! xoxo

Leave a Reply

